Dec 12, 2018 Women's Basketball 5:30 PM CST

Large Maverick squad makes for a promising year

Eighteen states and countries are represented on the Northwest Tech men's wrestling team this year, as announced by Head Coach Mike Sebaaly. The team will start with over 60 wrestlers this year as they look to begin the 2015-2016 season.

Ten wrestlers will be representing the state of Kansas, including returner Sabastion Cuffel (Rural Washburn) and national qualifiers Brice Mason (Leoti) and Jake Wilson (Rosehill).  Incoming freshmen include state runner-up Caleb Austin (Tribune), Chase Cole (Chanute), Chad Eisenbise (Holcomb), Lane Hayes (Scott City), Colton Hill (Rock Creek), Devon Massey (Wichita) and local product Ricky Milke (Goodland).

Nearby Colorado has the largest number of wrestlers on the roster this year, with 22.  Two-time state champion Jacob Ornelas of Fort Lupton is the leader of that class, and is working his way down to 197. Levi Maes of Sheridan, a state champion and 3-time state finalist, has transferred from Grand Canyon University and is looking to make his mark at 125.  State placer Jesus Ibarra of Fort Morgan has come in at heavyweight to push returner Adam Tate of Castle Rock.  Jesus Casillas (Denver), Luke Brown (Yuma) and Corey Coombs (Strasburg) are other returners from Colorado. Rounding out the newcomers from Colorado are Ryan Arguello (Lake County), Aaron Beltran (Horizon), Danny Constant (Cherry Creek), Randen Espinoza (Palisade), Dominique Evans (Eaglecrest), Hunter Lucas (Horizon), Lane McAdams (Pine Creek), Kaylen Montoya (Lamar), Michael Steele (Centaurus), Deano Valdez (Dolores), Rudy Vasquez (Fountain-Fort Carson), and Connor Wood (Callahan).

Arizona will be well represented as well with 6 wrestlers. Returner Victor Haro (Tuscon) will move up to 157 and looks to improve on last years 20-plus win season with a trip to nationals and the podium. Haro will be joined with his former high school teammate Chris Quiroz (Tuscon), who will be looking to help the Mavericks out at 133. Big things are also expected out of bronze state medalist Harold Johnson. Johnson will compete for the spot at 149 this year. State placers Kenny Gay (Maricopa), Richard Matthews (Apache Junction) and Beau Bullard (Apache Junction) wrap up the contingency from Arizona.

Neighboring states Nebraska and Oklahoma are also represented on this years squad.  Brandon Cswercko (Papllion-La Vista South) and Jordan Riley (Axtell) represent the Cornhusker state on the team and will look to contribute in the upper weights. Oklahoma has 4 wrestlers on the squad including State Champion Murdoch Marcum (El Reno), Aaron Hudson (Berryhill), Jerry Lambdin (Catoosa), and Reno Redleaf (Ponca City), a former All-American at Labette Community College, will also be making his return to the mat.

Other states represented include Georgia with two state finalists coming in from Turner County.  State Champion, Malik "Bull" Holley, is expected to compete at 165 and teammate and State Finalist, Wesley Poke, should be in the mix to start at 149. New York, Coach Sebaaly's home state, has two wrestlers coming in: State Champion Jacob Woolson from Mexico, N.Y., who should be competing for the starting spot at 184, and Danny Khomitch, from Byron-Bergen, N.Y. is a state qualifier who is coming in and will provide depth and may surprise somewhere between 174-197.

Two wrestlers are also coming in from the wrestling rich state of Ohio. Lucas Staten (Mount Vernon) is a multiple time state place finisher who is coming in to challenge at 174 and joins Mercyhurst transfer and former NJCAA National Finalist John Dillon (Boardman) this year in the quest to get on the top of the podium. Idaho also has a pair of wrestlers with the Reinhart brothers, Torrey and Chris (Skyline). Kentucky is the last state with a couple wrestlers on the Maverick squad with Jamarean Killebrew (Christian County) coming in at 125 and state place finisher Nolan Bowman coming in and hoping to start at 285.

The team also picked up Jonah Ribera (Texas), Jamon Meyers (Virginia), Tyler Pohlman (Wyoming), John Henderson (New Jersey) a transfer and NAIA national qualifier for Baker, Turah Reed (Illinois) and Nelson Van Diest (Nevada) round out the squad.

The wrestler who came from the farthest distance this year would be Andrew Purssell of Northern Ireland.